What Penalties Does Virginia Impose For A DUI?

At David D. Walker, P.C., I am here to defend the rights of those charged with a DUI throughout Virginia. As a former prosecutor, I understand how aggressively law enforcement pursue these cases. I use this knowledge to develop a strong criminal defense plan that guards your freedom and limits the negative consequences you may face.

What Penalties Do The Courts Impose?

Depending on the blood alcohol content (BAC) and how many prior convictions a driver has, Virginia may impose the following penalties for a DUI:

  • Fines: A first DUI conviction carries a minimum fine of $250. For multiple offenses, fines may reach as high as $1,000.
  • Jail time: Drivers convicted of their second DUI could face up to one year in jail. If that second conviction occurs within 10 years of the prior offense, there will be a minimum 10-day jail sentence. Jail sentences can reach as high as a mandatory one-year sentence after a fourth DUI.
  • License suspension: A license can be revoked for up to one year after just the first DUI conviction. A third DUI conviction can result in an indefinite suspension of a driver's license.
  • Interlocking device: Drivers who the courts convict of a DUI must install an ignition interlock device. This requirement coincides with the restricted driving privileges of a DUI conviction.

These penalties can have lasting consequences that threaten your freedom and permanently tarnish your reputation. I will treat your DUI case with the focused attention it deserves. I will provide you with honest, straightforward advice that positions you to make the best decision for your case. My complete understanding of Virginia's DUI penalties means you can trust me to effectively resolve your case.

Whether we pursue litigation, settle outside of court or seek a dismissal of the charges, I am an attorney who will only act with your best interests in mind.

Skilled Defense For College Students

It is common for college students in Virginia to face DUI-related charges as well as underage drinking charges. In addition to the penalties listed above, a DUI conviction for college students can lead to a loss of financial aid, suspension or expulsion and can hinder their ability to get a job going forward.

I am a lawyer who works closely with both college students and their parents. I will thoroughly analyze each case to determine how best to protect a young person's future.

Discuss Your Case During A Free Consultation

To learn more about your legal options, I invite you to contact my Salem law firm at 540-404-1722 or through my contact form to schedule a no-cost, confidential meeting today.